

THE ASSAM GAZETTE

অসাধাৰণ EXTRAORDINARY প্ৰাপ্ত কৰ্তৃত্বৰ দ্বাৰা প্ৰকাশিত PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHORITY

নং 126 দিশপুৰ, বুধবাৰ, 5 এপ্ৰিল, 2017, 15 চ'ত, 1939 (শক) No. 126 Dispur, Wednesday, 5th April, 2017, 15th Chaitra, 1939 (S.E.)

GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR ELECTION DEPARTMENT ::::: DISPUR

NOTIFICATION

The 1st April, 2017

No.ELE.144/2015/712.- The Election Commission of India's Direction No. 576/3/VVPAT/2017/SDR-Vol.II dated 31st March, 2017 is hereby published for general information.

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

NirvachanSadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi - 110001

Dated: 31st March, 2017 3 Chaitra, 1938 (Saka)

DIRECTION

No. 576/3/VVPAT/2017/SDR-Vol.II:- Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by voting machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituency or constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case, specify; and

- 2. Whereas, as per the proviso to rule 49A of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, a printer with a drop box of such design, as may be approved by the Election Commission of India, may also be attached to voting machine for printing a paper trail of the vote, in such constituency or constituencies or parts thereof as the Election Commission of India may direct; and
- 3. Whereas, the Election Commission of India has, vide its notification No. 576/3/EVM/2017/SDR-Vol.II dated 22nd March, 2017, already specified under the said section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, 113-Dhemaji(ST) Assembly Constituency in Assam, 36-Bhoranj(SC) Assembly Constituency in Himachal Pradesh, 09-Ater Assembly Constituency & 89-Bandhavgarh(ST) Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh, 216-Kanthi Dakshin Assembly Constituency in West Bengal, 79-Dholpur Assembly Constituency in Rajasthan, 214-Nanjangud(SC) Assembly Constituency & 224-Gudlupet Assembly Constituency in Karnataka, 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 04-Litipara(ST) Assembly Constituency in Jharkhand, 28-Upper Burtuk Assembly Constituency in Sikkim and 27-Rajouri Garden Assembly Constituency in NCT of Delhi as the constituencies in which the votes shall be given and recorded by means of voting machines at the poll to be taken for the current bye-election;

- 4. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India, in exercise of its powers under the said proviso to rule 49A of the Conduct of Election Rules, 1961, hereby-
- (i) specifies 113-Dhemaji(ST) Assembly Constituency in Assam, 36-Bhoranj(SC) Assembly Constituency in Himachal Pradesh, 09-Ater Assembly Constituency & 89-Bandhavgarh(ST) Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh, 216-Kanthi Dakshin Assembly Constituency in West Bengal, 79-Dholpur Assembly Constituency in Rajasthan, 214-Nanjangud(SC) Assembly Constituency & 224-Gudlupet Assembly Constituency in Karnataka, 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 04-Litipara(ST) Assembly Constituency in Jharkhand, 28-Upper Burtuk Assembly Constituency in Sikkim and 27-Rajouri Garden Assembly Constituency in NCT of Delhias the constituencies in which a printer with a drop box shall be attached to voting machines to be used for the giving and recording of votes at the current bye-elections to the Legislative Assemblies from the said constituencies;
- (ii) approves the design of the printer with the drop box as developed by the Bharat Electronics, Ltd., Bangalore and Electronics Corporation of India Ltd., Hyderabad for the printer which shall be attached to the said voting machines to be used for the giving and recording of votes in the above said Assembly Constituencies.

By Order,

(K.F.WILFRED) Principal Secretary

M. L. SUREKA, Addl. Chief Electoral Officer, Assam, Dispur, Guwahati.