পঞ্জীভুক্ত নম্বৰ - ৭৬৮ /৯৭





# THE ASSAM GAZETTE

## অসাধাৰণ

# EXTRAORDINARY প্ৰাপ্ত কৰ্তৃত্বৰ দ্বাৰা প্ৰকাশিত

## PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHORITY

নং 27 দিশপুৰ, বৃহস্পতিবাৰ, 25 জানুৱাৰী, 2018, 5 মাঘ, 1939 (শক) No. 27 Dispur, Thursday, 25th January, 2018, 5th Magha, 1939 (S.E.)

#### GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR THE BAR COUNCIL OF ASSAM, NAGALAND, MIZORAM, ARUNACHAL PRADESH AND SIKKIM

#### **NOTIFICATION**

The 25th January, 2018

No. BC/Elect./01/18.-

#### **Notice of Election**

ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BAR COUNCIL OF ASSAM, NAGALAND, MIZORAM, ARUNACHAL PRADESH & SIKKIM

Guwahati the 25<sup>th</sup> January, 2018

#### NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT -

1. The Election is to be held to elect 25 (Twenty five) Members to the Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh & Sikkim out of which minimum 12 (twelve) members are to be elected from amongst the Advocates whose names have been on the State Roll for at least 10 years.

2. Forms of Nomination Papers may be obtained from the Office of the Council as well as from the office of all Bar Associations of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh & Sikkim.

3. The Nomination Papers addressed to the Secretary proposed by 1(one) Voter and seconded by another Voter (vide Rule 8 of the Bar Council Election Rules, 1968) may be delivered to the Secretary in the office of the Council from **11 a.m. to 4 p.m.** on any working days from **01.02.2018** to not later than the **15.02.2018**. Nomination Paper for a candidate must be accompanied by a fee of **Rs. 30,000/-** (Rupees thirty thousand) only. The Nomination fee is to be paid either by Cash or by Bank Draft in favour of "Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland etc.", drawn on any Nationalized Bank payable at Guwahati.

4. The Nomination Papers will be taken up for scrutiny on 20.02.2018.

5. The Notice of withdrawal of the candidature by a candidate may be delivered to the Secretary before **4.30 p.m.** on **22.02.2018**.

6. The Final List of candidates will be published on 28.02.2018.

7. In the event of the election being contested, the poll will take place on **28.03.2018** between the hours from **10 A.M. to 4.30 P.M.** and voting by personal ballot will be held at *Guwahati, Amingaon, Abhayapuri, Barpeta, Bajali, Bijni, Bilasipara, Biswanath Chariali, Bongaigaon, Dhemaji, Dhubri, Dibrugarh, Diphu, Dimapur, Dhakuakhana, Goalpara, Golaghat, Gohpur, Gangtok, Hailakandi, Hojai, Hatsingimari, Haflong, Itanagar, Jorhat, Kaliabor, Karimganj, Kokrajhar, Kohima, Mangaldai, Margherita, Morigaon, Mizoram, Mokokchung, Nagaon, Nalbari, North Lakhimpur, Rangia, Sivasagar, Silchar, Sonari (Charaideo), Tezpur, Tinsukia, Tezu, and Udalguri. At Guwahati, the election will be held at the premises of the High Court Bar Association and in rest of centers polling will be held at the respective Bar Association premises and where there are more than one Bar Associations, the booth will be in the oldest Bar Association premises. The Voters of the rest of the places of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will vote by Postal Ballot.* 

8. The Voting Papers despatched by **Registered Post or carried by authorized persons** must reach the Secretary not later than the **30.03.2018**.

9. The Counting of Votes will take place on 31.03.2018.

MUKUL CHANDRA BHUYAN, Secretary, Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim.