পঞ্জীভুক্ত নম্বৰ - ৭৬৮ /৯৭





# **THE ASSAM GAZETTE**

## অসাধাৰণ EXTRAORDINARY প্ৰাপ্ত কৰ্ত্ত্বৰ দ্বাৰা প্ৰকাশিত PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHORITY

নং 480 দিশপুৰ, সোমবাৰ, 1 অক্টোবৰ, 2018, 9 আহিন, 1940 (শক) No. 480 Dispur, Monday, 1st October, 2018, 9th Asvina, 1940 (S. E.)

## GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR ASSAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

#### **NOTIFICATION**

The 1st October, 2018

No. LARC.43/2018/656.- In exercise of power conferred by Rules 260(3) and (4) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Assam Legislative Assembly the following Fifteenth Report of the Rules Committee with amendment is published for information of General Public -

RC-15

## COMPOSITION OF THE COMMITTEE

#### Ex-Officio-Chairman

#### <u>Members</u>

- Shri Chandra Mohan Patowary, Minister,
  Parliamentary Affairs etc., Assam,
- 3. Shri Atul Bora, Minister, Agriculture etc., Assam,
- Shri Phani Bhusan Choudhury, Minister, Food & Civil Supplies etc., Assam,
- Shri Debabrata Saikia, Leader of the Opposition, Assam Legislative Assembly,

6. Shri Ranjeet Kumar Dass, MLA,

Smti Ajanta Neog, MLA,

8. Shri Prasanta Phukan, MLA,

9. Shri Pabindra Deka, MLA,

10. Dr. Mansing Rongpi, MLA,

11. Shri Emmanuel Mosahary, MLA,

12. Shri Joy Ram Engleng, MLA,

13. Shri Mamun Imdadul Haque Chawdhury, MLA.

#### Secretariat

1. Shri M.K. Deka, Principal Secretary,

2. Shri A.N. Deka, Additional Secretary,

- 3. Shri M.K. Sarma, Deputy Secretary,
- 4. Shri H. Mushahary, Under Secretary.

.....

Shri Hitendra Nath Goswami, Hon'ble Speaker, Assam Legislative Assembly.

#### REPORT

On 4<sup>th</sup> September, 2018 a meeting of Business Advisory Committee had been convened by the Hon'ble Speaker, Assam Legislative Assembly to finalize the calendar of Autumn Session, commencing on and from 24<sup>th</sup> September, 2018. During the course of discussion the Hon'ble Speaker apprised the Hon'ble Members present in the meeting that in the meetings of the Business Advisory Committee dated 24<sup>th</sup> January and 6<sup>th</sup> June, 2018, had unanimously suggested for atleast 3(three) Sessions of Assembly Sessions in a year as is the practice in the Lok Sabha.

Lok Sabha sits for three Sessions in a year at an average of approximately 120 days per year. In the same way the volume of business of this Assembly is also increasing and new devices have been incorporated in Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Assam Legislative Assembly to accommodate more subjects/issues etc.

After a threadbare discussion, the Business Advisory Committee in its meeting dated 4<sup>th</sup> September, 2018 unanimously accepted the proposal of Hon'ble Speaker to hold three Assembly Sessions in a year as follows:

(a) February- March	Budget Session
(b) August	Autumn Session
(c) December	 Winter Session

Further, the Committee directed this Secretariat to place the matter before the Rules Committee to frame/amend the Rule to implement the decision of the Business Advisory Committee.

Accordingly, the matter has been placed before the Rules Committee, Assam Legislative Assembly on 18<sup>th</sup> September, 2018 as directed. After a threadbare discussion, the Rules Committee unanimously agreed to hold atleast 3 Sessions in a year with minimum 45 working days.

The Rules Committee agreed to insert the above proposal as Rule 11(B) in the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Assam Legislative Assembly shown in Annexure-I.

Dispur, The 23rd September, 2018. HITENDRA NATH GOSWAMI Speaker & Ex-Officio Chairman, Rules Committee, Assam Legislative Assembly.

.....

#### ANNEXURE-I

### RULES OF PROCEDURE AND CONDUCT OF BUSINESS IN ASSAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

#### AMENDMENT OF RULE 11

After the existing Rule 11(A) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Assam Legislative Assembly, the following shall be inserted as:-

"11(B) Atleast three Assembly Sessions shall be held/convened in a year as : () Enhance March Budget Session

(1) February-	March	Budget Session,
(ii) August		Autumn Session and
(iii) December	ť	Winter Session."

M. K. DEKA, Principal Secretary, Assam Legislative Assembly.