

THE ASSAM GAZETTE

অসাধাৰণ EXTRAORDINARY প্ৰাপ্ত কৰ্তৃত্বৰ দ্বাৰা প্ৰকাশিত PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHORITY

নং 173 দিশপুৰ, শনিবাৰ, 30 মাৰ্চ, 2024, 10 চ'ত, 1946 (শক) No. 173 Dispur, Saturday, 30th March, 2024, 10th Chaitra, 1946 (S. E.)

GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, ASSAM

NOTIFICATION

The 30th March, 2024

No. ELE 28/2024/156.- The Election Commission of India's Order No. 576/EXIT/2024/SDR-Vol. I, dated 28th March, 2024 is hereby published for general information.

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi – 110001

No. 576/EXIT/2024/SDR/Vol.I

Dated: 28thMarch, 2024

Chaitra 8, 1946

NOTIFICATION

Whereas, the schedule for the General Elections to Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha & Sikkim, 2024 and bye-election to 25 Assembly Constituencies in 12 States (as per annexure-1) as announced by the Election Commission vide Press Notes No. ECI/PN/23/2024 and No. ECI/PN/24/2024 both dated 16th March 2024 read with Press Note No. ECI/PN/32/2024 dated 27th March, 2024.

- 2. Whereas, Section 126A of The Representation of the People Act, 1951(in short R.P. Act, 1951) specifies that "(1) No person shall conduct any exit poll and publish or publicise by means of the print or electronic media or disseminate in any other manner, whatsoever, the result of any exit poll during such period, as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard.
- (2) For the purposes of sub-section (1), the Election Commission shall, by a general order, notify the date and time having due regard to the following, namely:—
 - (a) in case of a general election, the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the poll in all the States and Union territories;
 - (b) In case of a bye-election or a number of bye-elections held together, the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on and from the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the poll;

Provided that in case of a number of bye-elections held together on different days, the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the last poll.

- (3) Any person who contravenes the provisions of this section shall be punishable with imprisonment for a term which may extend to two years or with fine or with both."
- 3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-Section (1) of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of sub-Section (2) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between 7.00A.M on 19th April, 2024 (Friday) and 6.30 PM on 1st June, 2024 (Saturday) as the period during which conducting and publishing or publicizing exit poll by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the current General Elections to Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha & Sikkim, 2024 and bye-election to 25 Assembly Constituencies in 12 States (as per annexure-1) to be held simultaneously with the general election to Lok Sabha, shall be prohibited.

4. It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the R.P. Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for the conclusion of the poll in connection with the aforesaid general elections and bye-elections.

By order,

(S.B.JOSHI) PR.SECRETARY

Annexure-1

S. No.	Name of State	Assembly Constituency No. & Name
1.	Bihar	195-Agiaon(SC)
2.		26 - Vijapur
3.		108 - Khambhat
4.	Gujarat	136 - Vaghodia
5.		85 - Manavadar
6.		83 - Porbandar
7.	Haryana	21-Karnal
8.	Jharkhand	31- Gandey
9.	Tripura	7- Ramnagar
10.		136 - Dadraul
11.		173 - Lucknow East
12.	Uttar Pradesh	292 - Gainsari
13.		403 – Duddhi (ST)
14.	West Bengal	62-Bhagawangola
15.		113- Baranagar
16.	Telangana	71-Secunderabad Cantt.(SC)
17.		18 - Dharamshala
18.		21 – Lahaul&Spiti (ST)
19.		37 - Sujanpur
20.		39 - Barsar
21.	Himachal Pradesh	42 - Gagret
22.		45 - Kutlehar
23.	Rajasthan	165 – Bagidora (ST)
24.	Karnataka	36 – Shorapur (ST)
25.	Tamil Nadu	233 - Vilavancode
		1

ANURAG GOEL,

Chief Electoral Officer, Assam, Dispur, Guwahati-06.