

## THE ASSAM GAZETTE

## অসাধাৰণ EXTRAORDINARY প্ৰাপ্ত কৰ্তৃত্বৰ দ্বাৰা প্ৰকাশিত PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHORITY

নং ৪০ দিশপুৰ, মঙ্গলবাৰ, 26 ফেব্ৰুৱাৰী, 2019, 7 ফাণ্ডন, 1940 (শক)
No. 87 Dispur, Tuesday, 26th February, 2019, 7th Phalguna, 1940 (S.E.)

GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM
ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR
LEGISLATIVE DEPARTMENT ::: LEGISLATIVE BRANCH :: DISPUR

## **NOTIFICATION**

The 18th February, 2019

No. LGL. 40/1998/350.— In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 4(1) of the Assam Advocates' Welfare Fund Act, 1998 (Assam Act No. XVIII of 1999) and consequent upon constitution of a new Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim as intimated by the Secretary of the said Bar Council vide letter No. BC/727/2018 dated 20-12-2018 and also in supersession of this Deptt's Notification No. LGL. 40/1998/232 dated- 18/12/2009, the Governor of Assam is hereby pleased to re-constitute the Assam Advocates' Welfare Fund Committee with immediate effect with the following, namely:--

- 1) The Chairman of the Bar Council Ex-Officio Chairman
- 2) The Advocate General, Assam Ex-Officio Member
- 3) The Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt.of Ex-Officio Member Assam, Legislative Department
- 4) The Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Ex-Officio Member Assam, Judicial Department
- 5) The Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Ex-Officio Member Assam, Finance Department
- 6) Shri Gajanand Sahewalla, Senior Advocate Member
- 7) Ms. Monjuli Dev, Advocate Member

- 8) Shri Pronab Jyoti Saikia, Advocate Member
- 9) The Secretary, Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland etc. Ex-Officio Secretary of the Committee without having voting right.
- 10) A Parcticing Advocate of the State to be co-opted by the other members of the Committee for a period of five years and his term shall be co-terminus with the term of the Bar Council.

Member.

The members nominated by the Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim under Section 4(3)(f) of the Assam Advocates' Welfare Fund Act, 1998 and as menioned in serial Nos. 6,7 and 8 hereinabove, shall hold Office for a term of five years or for the term of his membership in the Bar Council, whichever is less.

## S. M. BUZAR BARUAH,

Commissioner & Secretary to the Government of Assam, Legislative Department, Dispur, Guwahati-6.